Skip to content

Welcome to the Motorsport Awards

Hello and Welcome to the Motorsport Awards®.

We’re delighted to announce the finalists for our inaugural 2018 season.

We asked the public to nominate people, teams, circuits and company’s they would like to see win a motorsport award. We have compiled the full list of nominations made up of public votes and a suggestions from our panel of judges.


Driver of the year
Emily Linscott
Louis Foster
Alex Toth-Jones
Patrick Kibble
Stuart Smith Jnr
Niall Murray
Tom Ingram
Lewis Hamilton
Colin Turkington
Mick Schumacher

Rider of the year
Jonathan Rea
Leon Haslam
Jake Dixon
Marc Marquez
Jack Kennedy
Ryan Vickers
Peter Hickman
Valentino Rossi
Tai Woffinden
Francesco Bagnaia

Team of the Year
OMG Racing UK
JG Speedfit Kawasaki/Bournemouth Kawasaki
Team Dynamics
BTC Norlin
Century Motorsport
Everquip Racing
Jetstream Motorsport
Optimum Motorsport
Team Wainman

Star of the future, Cars
Ben Tuck
James Kellett
Kiern Jewiss
Michael Eastwell
Adam Smalley
Callum Ilott
Ben Green
Ollie Caldwell
Aiden Moffatt
Charles Leclerc

Star of the future, Bikes
Ryan Vickers
Josh Elliott
Harrison Crosby
Chloe Jones
Casey O’Gorman
Joshua Whatley
Dominic Herbertson
Markus Reiterberger
Rossi Banham
Ryan Hitchcock

Young Rider of the year
Saffron Whatley
Chloe Jones
Harrison Crosby
Casey O’Gorman
Drew Kemp
Finn Smart
Harry Leigh
Henry McCartney
Mason Johnson
Sullivan Mounsey

Young Driver of the year
Louis Foster
Emily Linscott
Patrick Kibble
Charlotte Birch
George Davis
Jenson Brickley
Joel Pearson
Keirn Jewiss
Olli Caldwell
Rebecca Smith

Best battle in a race
Sutton v Cook (BTCC Brands Hatch GP Race 3)
Stuart Campbell vs O’Gorman (CFR Rowrah LC40 Elite Race 1)
Dovi vs Marq (MotoGP Qatar)
Goff vs Sutton (BTCC Snett)
Louis Foster (Thruxton, Ginetta Junior Championship race 2)
Olli Caldwell (German F4 Hockenheim Race 2)
Ryan Harper-Ellam vs James Pinkerton (Radical SR1 Cup Silverstone Race 1)
Senior Minimoto Race 1 at GYG at Cool FAB-Racing 2018
Sullivan Mounsey & Troy Jeffrey (AC40 Pro Whilton Mill)
Cocker vs Adam (Britsh GT Brands Hatch)


Best race of the year
BTCC Brands Hatch GP Race 3
TCR UK Round 14
MotoGP Assen
BMW Compact Cup – Castle Combe Race 2
National Ministox National Championship (Gold roof) race

Best championship
World RX
British GT
Ginetta Juniors
FIA European F3
Cool FAB-Racing
Blancpain GT
MG Trophy
2CV Championship BARC
German F4

Best race car
Porsche 991 Gen 2 Carrera Cup car
HMS Alfa
Aston Martin Vantage GTE 2018
Toyota Avensis BTCC
Mini Cooper WRX Car

Best race bike
2018 Desmosedici (Ducati)
Kawasaki ZX10R
Honda RC213V 2018
Yamaha YZR-M1 2018
Ducati Panigali R

Best club series, car
Citroen 24 Hours series
750MC Club Enduro
Carbon8 Hyundai Coupe Cup

Best club series, bike
Classic Racing Motorcycle Club
KMSC Bike Championship
British Supermoto Championship
No Limits Racing

Racing club of the year
750 Motor Club
Peterborough Junior MotoX Club

Trackday Organisers of the Year
Knockhill Track days
RMA Trackdays
Javelin Trackdays
No Limits Trackdays

Best new championship or series
Heritage Formula Ford
C1 Series 24 Hours
British Talent Cup
World Touring Car Cup


Story or Journalist of the year
Christian Sylt
Stephen Lickorish
Colin Casserley
Lee Fraser
David Nelson

Commentator of the year
Chris Dawes
Paul O’Neil
Keith Huewen
Fred Clake
James Whitham
Andy McEwan
Dave Goddard
David Addison
Chris Hartley
Mark Werrell

Photo / Photographer of the year
Mat Acton
Bonnie Lane
Rachel Bourne
Jakob Ebrey
Matt Sayle
Paul Tulley
Neil Brownlee
Marc Waller
Gavin Smith
Ian Cutting

Best marketing campaign
OMG Racing #FlyOMG
Alex Toth-Jones
F1000 Social Media
Falken #FalkenFam
Charlie Martin LGBT Pride

Best fan engagement
British GT and SM usage
Emily Linscott
Alex Toth-Jones
BTCC Facebook Live

Best charity campaign
Inviticus Games Racing in British GT
BriSCA Stand up to Cancer #LetsFenceCancer
The Race of Remembrance
Simon Andrews Fund
Riley Dexter Support

Marshall/Official of the Year
Chris Humphries
Lea Clowes
Shaun Dalton
Ashlee Aspin
Colin Whitter
Don Hall
Gary Dawson
Gary Thompson
Lindsay Burke
Ross Manson

TV Production Company
Pro Active TV
Greenlight TV
North One


Best Road Car
TVR Griffith
Bentley Continental GT 2018MY
Brabham BT Car
Honda civic Type R
MG 6

Best Road Bike
Ducati Panigale V4
Yamaha Tracer 900
Triumph Speed Triple 1050 RS
Kawasaki H2 SX
Kawsaki Ninja 400

Best engineering
McLaren Special Operations
Billy Monger’s hand controls
Ducati MotoGP Team
Elite Motorsport (Jamie Ross)
Porsche 919 Tribute

Best new technology
Formula E Gen 2 Car
Code 60 – St Cross Electronics
The Halo
MotoGP 360 camera
TOCA Safety Truck

Best Race Circuit
Brands Hatch
Cadwell Park
Oulton Park
Whilton Mill
Kings Lynn
Lydden Hill
Mount Panorama

Best investment
Donington Park refurbishment
TOCA Safety Truck
Thruxton’s Hospitality Building
Silverstone Rallycross Circuit
Wales Rally GB, closed road stages

Insurance Company of the Year
Carole Nash Insurance
Reis Motorsport
Adrian Flux Motorsport
Mackenzie-Hodgson Insurance
Grove & Dean

Best trade show/exhibition
Motorcycle Live
Autosport Show
Manchester Bike Show
Professional Motorsport World Expo
Silverstone Classic


Lifetime achievement awards
Murray Walker
Shaun Dalton
John Corbyn
Derek Johnston
Frankie Wainman Jnr

Lifetime commitment to the sport
Frankie Wainman Jnr
Mick Grant
Roger Keys
Lawrence Tomlinson
Bernard Cottrell

Spirit of the sport
Billy Monger
Petter Solberg
Tom Ingram
Charlie Nesbitt
Brandon Perrill

Unsung Hero
Brandon Perrill
Shaun Dalton
Ana Carasco
Ali Montgomery
Kelly Brassey